Skip to content

Private members’ clubs · fees, as published

Private members club fees, as published

Private members club membership fees usually have two parts: a one-off joining fee and an annual subscription. Among the London clubs below, published standard subscriptions run from £750 to £2,750 a year, joining fees from nothing to £2,000, and most clubs charge members under about 30 far less.

Every figure on this page is the club’s own, read on its own website on 29 October 2026 and linked. Fees change every year, so check the club’s page before you budget.

Club fees

01/ What you pay

A joining fee, then a subscription.

The joining fee (also called an entrance fee or initiation fee) is paid once, when you are elected or accepted. The annual subscription is paid every year you stay a member, often with a monthly option.

Clubs then vary the subscription by age, by where you live and by who joins with you. The Oriental Club, for example, prices by age and by Town, Country or Overseas residence (Oriental Club rates).

Food, drink, bedrooms and events are almost always charged on top. A subscription buys access, not consumption.

Some clubs also set rules on when you pay. The Army and Navy Club runs its membership year from January to December, charges pro rata for those joining from July, and does not allow cancellation mid-year (Army and Navy Club rates 2026).

What it is
WhenOnce, on election
Also calledEntrance or initiation fee
Often waived forYounger members, family schemes
Refundable?Check the club’s terms

02/ Private members club London membership cost

London club fees, from each club’s own page.

Standard adult rate and the club’s lowest published age rate. Every figure is the club’s own, read on 29 October 2026. No ranking is implied, and none of these clubs is a client.

ClubStandard annual subscriptionJoining feeYounger-member rateRead
Army and Navy Club£1,165 (2026)£950Under 29: £440 a year29 October 2026
Century Club£875 (age 35 and over)£250Age 34 and under: £49529 October 2026
East India ClubVaries by category and ageWaived on J7J7: £750 one-off, to the December after the 25th birthday (2026)29 October 2026
Home House£2,250, inc. VAT£499Under 35: £1,56029 October 2026
Oriental Club£2,680 Town, age 35 and over (2026)£2,000 (waived on family schemes)Aged 18–24: £670 Town29 October 2026
Royal Over-Seas League£750 LondonJoining fee charged; amount not stated on the pageAged 17–25: £295, joining fee waived29 October 2026
Soho HouseFrom £291.67 a month (White City House page)Not stated on the pageUnder 27: from £204.17 a month29 October 2026
The Twenty Two£2,750 Patron (30 and over)£1,500Young Patron, 21–29: £1,800 + £1,200 joining29 October 2026

Each club’s own published fees, read 29 October 2026. Soho House also lists a local-house membership at Soho Mews House from £1,650 a year (£1,100 under 27) (Soho Mews House). Fees change; check the club’s page before quoting one.

The table answers “how much is a private members club membership” for these clubs only. It is not a sample of the market, so no average is drawn from it.

For a wider list of London clubs, see best private members clubs London; this page sticks to the money.

03/ Standard subscriptions compared

Same kind of club, a wide spread.

Six of the clubs publish a single standard annual subscription for an adult in London. The highest is more than three and a half times the lowest.

The spread follows the offer. A club with bedrooms, a gym and a full events programme costs more to run than a dining club with a library and a bar.

Soho House is left out of the chart because it publishes a monthly “from” figure rather than one annual rate.

Standard annual subscription, London adult

Each club’s own published standard rate, read 29 October 2026: ROSL, Century, Army and Navy, Home House, Oriental (Town, 35+), The Twenty Two (Patron). Joining fees excluded.

04/ Under-27 and age-banded rates

Younger members pay a fraction.

The Oriental Club publishes the most detailed ladder: a Town member aged 18–24 pays £670, rising year by year to £2,680 from age 35 (Oriental Club rates 2026).

The cut-off varies. Soho House uses under 27 (Soho House), the Army and Navy Club under 29 (Army and Navy), Home House and Century under 35 (Home House; Century).

Some clubs also waive the joining fee for the young. The Royal Over-Seas League waives it for 17–25s (ROSL); the East India Club’s J7 one-off payment “does not require payment of an additional entrance fee” (East India Club).

For an operator, the logic is the pipeline: a member who joins at 24 may stay for decades at the full rate.

Oriental Club Town subscription by age, 2026

Oriental Club, Annual Subscriptions 2026, Town category, read 29 October 2026. The club’s own published rates.

05/ Which rate might apply

Check the discounts before the headline rate.

Headline rates assume an adult living near the club. Many applicants qualify for something lower.

Run the check, then read the club’s own category definitions: “Town” and “Country” are defined by distance, and each club draws the line differently.

The Oriental Club’s Town category covers those living within 100 miles of the clubhouse or with a regular place of business in London (Oriental Club); the Royal Over-Seas League uses a 50-mile radius of Charing Cross (ROSL).

Might a reduced rate apply?

  1. 01Are you under 35?

  2. 02Do you live outside London or outside the UK?

  3. 03Is a partner or family member joining too?

  4. 04Would your employer pay?

Answer the 4 questions to see where you stand.

Categories and limits are each club’s own; this check only points to the question to ask.

06/ Couples, family and corporate rates

Joint, family and corporate rates.

Joint rates are usually less than two singles. The Twenty Two charges £4,000 a year for Joint Patrons, against £2,750 for one Patron (The Twenty Two); Century charges £1,500 for two (Century).

Family packages go further. The Army and Navy Club’s package covers a lead member, spouse and any number of children up to 35 for £1,895 a year (Army and Navy 2026). The Royal Over-Seas League charges only one joining fee per household (ROSL).

Corporate membership usually needs a minimum group. Home House offers it to groups of five or more at £1,575 per person a year plus the joining fee (Home House); Century’s needs at least four members from one company (Century).

Corporate schemes for associations generally are covered under corporate membership.

  • The Twenty Two£5,500Two singles: £5,500. Joint rate: £4,000.
  • Century£1,750Two singles: £1,750. Joint rate: £1,500.

Annual subscriptions only, from The Twenty Two and Century (35 and over), read 29 October 2026. “Two singles” is our arithmetic: twice the published individual rate.

07/ How operators set club fees

How clubs set their fees.

If you run a club, the published fees above show the levers most operators use. The level is only one of them.

The joining fee filters for commitment and funds the clubhouse; waiving it for young members trades short-term income for a longer member life.

The subscription has to cover fixed costs that do not move with usage: rent or upkeep, core staff, insurance and licensing.

Bands by age, distance and household let a club widen its membership without discounting its core rate.

Fee-setting for membership organisations in general, including fee increases and the letter that announces one, is on our membership pricing guide.

Younger rates

Lower rates feed the pipeline.

08/ If you run a club

Fees are part of the offer you market.

How a club presents its fees affects who applies. Clubs that publish rates clearly, with their bands, let applicants qualify themselves before the membership team spends time on them.

Every club in the table above publishes at least its standard rate. That openness is itself a choice.

We help clubs set out their categories and fees, then market them to the right applicants. See our private members club marketing service, and the private members club application process for what happens after someone applies.

Private members club marketing

Positioning, fee presentation and applicant journeys for clubs.

See the service →
Dan Keegan, Founder, Membership Quest and GTM Quest

Written by Dan KeeganFounder, Membership Quest and GTM Quest · GTM Quest ↗

09/ questions

Private members club fees FAQs.

How much is a private members club membership in London?

It depends on the club. Among the London clubs whose fees we read on 29 October 2026, standard annual subscriptions ran from £750 (Royal Over-Seas League, London rate) to £2,750 (The Twenty Two, Patron), with joining fees from none to £2,000.

What is a joining fee at a private members club?

A one-off fee paid on election or acceptance, separate from the annual subscription. Some clubs call it an entrance fee. Several waive it for younger members or family schemes.

How much is Soho House membership?

Soho House’s White City House page says membership starts from £291.67 a month, or £204.17 for members under 27; its Soho Mews House page lists a local membership from £1,650 a year (£1,100 under 27). Read 29 October 2026; check Soho House’s site for current rates.

Are private members clubs cheaper if you are under 27?

Usually, yes. Most clubs in the table publish reduced rates for younger members, though the age cut-off varies: under 27 at Soho House, under 29 at the Army and Navy Club, under 35 at Home House and Century.

Do private members clubs charge VAT on subscriptions?

Some publish their rates inclusive of VAT; Home House states “all rates are inclusive of VAT”. Treatment depends on the club’s structure, so check each club’s terms.

Does the subscription include food and drink?

Not at the clubs on this page. The subscription buys access; food, drink, bedrooms and most events are charged as you use them.

Can you pay private members club fees monthly?

Some clubs offer it. Home House and the Army and Navy Club both publish monthly rates; the Army and Navy Club notes a reduction for paying annually.

If you run a club

Price the club people want to join.

We help private members’ clubs present their fees and categories clearly and reach the applicants who fit.

11/ sources

Every claim, and where it came from

  1. Army and Navy Club — Membership information and Subscription and Joining Fee Rates 2026Club’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)
  2. Century Club — Membership types and feesClub’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)
  3. East India Club — Membership: J7 and categoriesClub’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)
  4. Home House — Membership ratesClub’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)
  5. Oriental Club — Membership rates, Annual Subscriptions 2026Club’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)
  6. Royal Over-Seas League — How to join: subscription feesClub’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)
  7. Soho House — White City House and Soho Mews House pagesClub’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)
  8. The Twenty Two — Select your membership (London)Club’s own published fees (read 29 October 2026)